Where the parties stand
A sample-weighted trend across every published national poll, shown with the uncertainty attached. A single poll is a noisy measurement — the band matters more than the line.
Across 148 published national polls, with fieldwork to 16 August 2026, the trend has Labor on 28.0%, One Nation on 26.0%, Coalition on 21.9%, Greens on 13.0% and Others on 11.1% of the first-preference vote. The trend is estimated at 13 August 2026, the midpoint of the most recent fieldwork.
Primary vote trend
148 polls from 14 polling organisations, fieldwork between 5 May 2025 and 16 August 2026.
Preferred prime minister
48 questions, as publishedA different question from the one above: not which party a respondent would vote for, but which person they would rather have in the job. Pollsters ask it in different forms — some offer two names, some three — and a leader's figure moves with who else is on the list, so every question is shown as it was asked.
Most recent reading, by pollster
Different pollsters offer different people and give an undecided option different prominence, so their figures are not directly comparable with each other. Who each one has ahead is.
- YouGov30 June 2026 · n=1,502Albanese 44Taylor 35unsure 21
- RedBridge26 June 2026 · n=1,006Albanese 33Hanson 23Taylor 11unsure 23
- Newspoll25 June 2026 · n=1,235Albanese 47Taylor 36
- DemosAU18 June 2026 · n=1,497Albanese 35Hanson 28Taylor 19
- Resolve13 June 2026 · n=1,801Hanson 33Albanese 29Taylor 16unsure 22
- Fox & Hedgehog26 May 2026 · n=1,700Taylor 38Albanese 36unsure 26
- Spectre Strategy8 April 2026 · n=1,002nothing newer from themAlbanese 41Taylor 32unsure 27
- Freshwater29 March 2026 · n=1,050nothing newer from themAlbanese 42Taylor 36unsure 22
Albanese v Taylor30 polls · Albanese ahead in 28, Taylor ahead in 2
| Fieldwork to | Pollster | Albanese | Taylor | Unsure | Sample |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2026 | YouGov | 44% | 35% | 21% | 1,502 |
| 25 June 2026 | Newspoll | 47% | 36% | not reported | 1,235 |
| 16 June 2026 | YouGov | 43% | 38% | 19% | 1,492 |
| 4 June 2026 | Newspoll | 44% | 38% | 18% | 1,240 |
| 2 June 2026 | YouGov | 41% | 39% | 20% | 1,471 |
| 26 May 2026 | Fox & Hedgehog | 36% | 38% | 26% | 1,700 |
| 19 May 2026 | YouGov | 41% | 38% | 21% | 1,504 |
| 17 May 2026 | Newspoll | 46% | 38% | 16% | 1,252 |
| 16 May 2026 | Resolve | 30% | 33% | 37% | 1,800 |
| 5 May 2026 | YouGov | 45% | 36% | 19% | 1,500 |
| 21 April 2026 | YouGov | 44% | 39% | 17% | 1,501 |
| 18 April 2026 | Resolve | 33% | 32% | 35% | 1,803 |
| 16 April 2026 | Newspoll | 46% | 37% | 17% | 1,235 |
| 8 April 2026 | Spectre Strategy | 41% | 32% | 27% | 1,002 |
| 7 April 2026 | YouGov | 44% | 36% | 20% | 1,502 |
| 29 March 2026 | Freshwater | 42% | 36% | 22% | 1,050 |
| 26 March 2026 | Newspoll | 44% | 36% | 20% | 1,232 |
| 25 March 2026 | Fox & Hedgehog | 39% | 35% | 26% | 1,810 |
| 14 March 2026 | Resolve | 35% | 31% | not reported | 1,803 |
| 26 February 2026 | Newspoll | 45% | 37% | 18% | 1,237 |
| 19 February 2026 | Fox & Hedgehog | 40% | 35% | 25% | 1,625 |
| 14 February 2026 | Resolve | 38% | 22% | 40% | 1,800 |
| 10 February 2026 | YouGov | 47% | 25% | 27% | 1,561 |
| 8 February 2026 | Newspoll | 49% | 30% | 21% | 1,234 |
| 29 January 2026 | RedBridge | 37% | 9% | 54% | 1,003 |
| 27 January 2026 | YouGov | 47% | 29% | 24% | 1,500 |
| 16 January 2026 | Newspoll | 51% | 31% | 18% | 1,224 |
| 16 January 2026 | Resolve | 33% | 29% | 38% | 1,800 |
| 6 January 2026 | DemosAU | 42% | 29% | 29% | 1,027 |
| 6 January 2026 | Fox & Hedgehog | 39% | 31% | 30% | 1,608 |
Albanese v Hanson7 polls · Albanese ahead in 7
| Fieldwork to | Pollster | Albanese | Hanson | Unsure | Sample |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2026 | YouGov | 49% | 40% | 11% | 1,502 |
| 16 June 2026 | YouGov | 48% | 41% | 11% | 1,492 |
| 2 June 2026 | YouGov | 47% | 41% | 12% | 1,471 |
| 19 May 2026 | YouGov | 50% | 38% | 12% | 1,504 |
| 5 May 2026 | YouGov | 54% | 35% | 11% | 1,500 |
| 21 April 2026 | YouGov | 50% | 39% | 11% | 1,501 |
| 8 April 2026 | Spectre Strategy | 44% | 39% | 17% | 1,002 |
Albanese v Hanson v Taylor11 polls · Albanese ahead in 10, Hanson ahead in 1
| Fieldwork to | Pollster | Albanese | Hanson | Taylor | Unsure | Sample |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26 June 2026 | RedBridge | 33% | 23% | 11% | 23% | 1,006 |
| 25 June 2026 | Newspoll | 49% | 31% | 20% | not reported | 1,235 |
| 18 June 2026 | DemosAU | 35% | 28% | 19% | not reported | 1,497 |
| 13 June 2026 | Resolve | 29% | 33% | 16% | 22% | 1,801 |
| 28 May 2026 | RedBridge | 31% | 25% | 14% | 30% | 1,005 |
| 20 May 2026 | DemosAU | 34% | 27% | 23% | 16% | 1,502 |
| 30 April 2026 | RedBridge | 33% | 23% | 14% | 29% | 1,014 |
| 27 March 2026 | RedBridge | 33% | 23% | 14% | 30% | 1,003 |
| 27 February 2026 | RedBridge | 34% | 23% | 10% | 33% | 1,006 |
| 20 February 2026 | DemosAU | 37% | 25% | 19% | 19% | 1,551 |
| 21 January 2026 | DemosAU | 39% | 26% | 16% | 19% | 1,933 |
Earlier leadership pairings20 questions · Albanese v Ley
Pollsters stop asking about a pairing once someone in it is no longer leader, so these series simply end. They are kept because they were really published, and held apart because a question about a former leader does not describe the contest now.
Albanese v Ley20 polls · Albanese ahead in 20
| Fieldwork to | Pollster | Albanese | Ley | Unsure | Sample |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 December 2025 | Resolve | 38% | 30% | 32% | 1,010 |
| 12 December 2025 | RedBridge | 41% | 12% | 47% | 1,012 |
| 7 December 2025 | Resolve | 41% | 26% | 33% | 1,800 |
| 20 November 2025 | Newspoll | 54% | 27% | 19% | 1,245 |
| 13 November 2025 | RedBridge | 40% | 10% | 50% | 1,011 |
| 8 November 2025 | Resolve | 39% | 25% | 36% | 1,804 |
| 30 October 2025 | Newspoll | 54% | 27% | 19% | 1,265 |
| 30 October 2025 | YouGov | 51% | 26% | 23% | 4,578 |
| 20 October 2025 | Freshwater | 48% | 31% | 22% | 1,530 |
| 12 October 2025 | Resolve | 40% | 23% | 37% | 1,800 |
| 2 October 2025 | Newspoll | 52% | 30% | 18% | 1,264 |
| 30 September 2025 | YouGov | 50% | 28% | 22% | 1,329 |
| 13 September 2025 | Resolve | 38% | 26% | 36% | 1,800 |
| 11 September 2025 | Newspoll | 51% | 31% | 18% | 1,283 |
| 16 August 2025 | Resolve | 41% | 26% | 33% | 1,800 |
| 14 August 2025 | Newspoll | 51% | 31% | 18% | 1,264 |
| 30 July 2025 | Wolf & Smith | 45% | 35% | 20% | 5,000 |
| 18 July 2025 | Resolve | 40% | 25% | 35% | 2,311 |
| 17 July 2025 | Newspoll | 52% | 32% | 16% | 1,264 |
| 1 July 2025 | Spectre Strategy | 46% | 27% | 27% | 1,001 |
How to read these
- A leader’s score depends on who else was offered. The same leader in the same month scores differently in a two-way question and a three-way one, so those are listed separately and never averaged. There is no combined line here because no pollster published one.
- Pollsters differ in how prominently they offer an undecided option, and the more prominent it is the lower every leader scores. Compare the gap between leaders within a poll, not a leader’s number across pollsters.
- This is not voting intention, and it is not a seat projection. It asks which person a respondent prefers, which is a different question from which party they would vote for.
Figures are facts published by the named polling organisations; where available each record links to that organisation's own release. Table structure and aggregation sourced from Wikipedia, 'Leadership approval opinion polling for the next Australian federal election' (CC BY-SA 4.0).
What that would mean in seats
A model, not a measurementA national vote is not a seat count. Seats are won one division at a time, so a party polling well everywhere can win far fewer seats than its vote suggests, and a party whose vote is concentrated can win far more. This takes the 10 most recent polls (2026-07-26 to 2026-08-16), applies them to each division’s 2025 first preferences, and distributes preferences as they actually flowed in 2025.
- Labor93(59–111)
- Coalition48(17–63)
- Others7(1–14)
- One Nation1(0–59)
- Greens1(0–4)
Bold is this projection. The range in brackets is what the same model gives across 117 combinations of swing method and of each party polling at the top and bottom of its recent range.
What is measured and what is assumed
- Measured:every party’s first preference vote in all 150 divisions in 2025, where preferences went when a candidate was excluded, and the current national primary vote from published polls.
- Assumed: how a national change lands in an individual seat. A party rising from 6.4% to 26.1% could add the same number of points everywhere, or multiply wherever it already stood. Those give different answers, so both are offered and the gap between them is published as the range.
- Where that breaks: multiplying works for a party moving a few points and fails for one moving twenty. Because One Nation’s national vote quadruples, the proportional setting puts them above half the first preferences in ten seats and above 40% in twenty-five — when the highest first-preference share any party took in any seat in 2025 was 55.2%, Labor in Sydney. Read the top of the range as a bound the method produces, not as a forecast.
- Assumed: how Coalition voters preference One Nation. This is the weakest number in the model and the one the answer turns on. The 2025 figure is 5.2%, but it comes from the only 25 divisions where a Coalition candidate was ever excluded — Melbourne, Sydney, Grayndler, Canberra and the like, safe Labor and Green seats where the Liberals ran third and their preferences went to Labor. Nothing in that sample resembles a regional contest between One Nation and Labor, which is where this projection now puts them. Set it to mirror how One Nation voters preference the Coalition (61%) and One Nation goes from a handful of seats to dozens. Both are on the control above; neither is a fact.
- Checked: handed the 2025 vote, the model returns 143 of 150 divisions correctly. The 7 it misses are seats decided by a candidate rather than a party — Bullwinkel, Curtin, Fowler, Kennedy and others — which is the blind spot of any model built on national figures.
- Independents are modelled apart from minor parties, because an independent’s vote is personal to one seat while minor party support is spread thin across all of them. Lumped together, a national fall in the minor party vote is subtracted from a sitting independent’s own vote and takes their seat off them. They are still counted as one crossbench, which held 12 of 150 seats in 2025. Independents are held at their 2025 share, so where a sitting independent is not recontesting this will be wrong.
- Seats are grouped by state and nothing finer. The data records which state a division is in and no more, so there is no map here — a shape claiming to be Australia would be asserting geography this model does not have.
- Boundaries are those of the 2025 election. A redistribution since is not reflected, because sitting members were elected on these boundaries.
Seat baseline and preference flows from the Australian Electoral Commission (CC BY 4.0). Polls as listed above.
Known limitations of this dataset
8 of 148 records carry a caveat. We publish these rather than quietly dropping or patching them, because a silently “clean” dataset is the easiest kind to mislead with.
- Essential · fieldwork to 27 Jul
Published two-party-preferred (48/47) does not sum to 100 — typically an undecided share is included. Excluded as not comparable.
- Essential · fieldwork to 29 Jun
Published two-party-preferred (46/48) does not sum to 100 — typically an undecided share is included. Excluded as not comparable.
- Essential · fieldwork to 25 May
Published two-party-preferred (48/47) does not sum to 100 — typically an undecided share is included. Excluded as not comparable.
- Essential · fieldwork to 27 Apr
Published two-party-preferred (47/49) does not sum to 100 — typically an undecided share is included. Excluded as not comparable.
- Essential · fieldwork to 23 Mar
Published two-party-preferred (46/47) does not sum to 100 — typically an undecided share is included. Excluded as not comparable.
- Essential · fieldwork to 24 Nov
Reported primary votes sum to 102.0%, not 100% — transcribed as published.
- YouGov · fieldwork to 30 Sep
Reported primary votes sum to 107.0%, not 100% — transcribed as published.
- Wolf & Smith · fieldwork to 30 Jul
Not reported by this pollster: grn, onp, oth. Recorded as null, never estimated.